Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_inc_asteriskstm_booking_railway_inc

Exercise under the trees

Running
MalojaPontresinaSamedanCelerina
Vitaparcours
Back to the roots

Public health in Switzerland received a boost in 1968 when members of a Zurich men’s gymnastics club jogged through a forest and started using fallen logs, gnarled tree stumps and sturdy overhanging branches as gym apparatus. To save the team having to keep searching out and assembling new training stations over time, the Vita insurance company sponsored the first Vitaparcours fitness trail. Later, the Zurich insurance company took over.

Today there are 500 Vitaparcours trails in all throughout Switzerland: open round the clock, free to use, and in top condition thanks to a solid sponsorship arrangement. In the Engadin, seven of these facilities offer an atmospheric exercise opportunity in the open air and under the treetops – at Maloja, Pontresina, Samedan, Celerina, St. Moritz, Zuoz . Joggers can increase their stamina, work on their strength and/or boost fitness in general with exercises designed to improve agility and suppleness.

Does just reading about it make you want to join in?

Then go for it! Not at a gym, but at Switzerland’s most uplifting outdoor fitness facility: our Engadin forests!

Vitaparcours fitness trails in the Engadin
Vitaparcours fitness trails in the Engadin

Agility:
balance on the beam for 5 seconds, min. 1 rep

Strength:
raise and lower body at the high bar, min. 5×

Suppleness:
bend upper body to the side, min. 10× each side

Stamina:
quickly step on and off the log, min. 1 minute

Running through a Vitaparcours is much more than “normal” jogging. Tackling these courses improves agility, boosts the cardiovascular system, builds up strength and is gentle on the joints… the full fitness package! It is therefore all the more important to be equipped with the correct running gear. You can find all you need to get the most out of a Vitaparcours here .

Vita Parcours

All Vita Parcours at a glance.

more info
Vita Parcours
Swimming lakes in the Engadin

Perfect for a dip.

more info
Lej da Staz
Fitness centre / fitness rooms

All Fitness centre / fitness rooms at a glance.

more info
Fitness centre / fitness rooms

However you tackle a Vitaparcours – alone, with a running buddy or with the family – the activity is a real pleasure for all. To maximise the fun, however, no one should feel under any pressure. Every jogger – and of course any hiker keen to try something new – can decide which training stations they want to tick off, according to their mood.

Reliably varied

The components of the Vitaparcours trails are identical across the country: 15 stations with a total of 43 exercises (short courses have at least 6 stations). Each training installation has a blue sign with diagrams explaining the exercises, classified by colour. “Yellow” activities, for example, boost agility and suppleness; “red” exercises improve strength, and “turquoise” stands for stamina.

So much for the standard features. Everything else is determined by topography and the space available. The Vitaparcours trails in the Engadin have very different lengths: 0.9 km (Zuoz short course), approx. 2.4 km (Samedan, Maloja, Celerina), approx. 2.8 km (Pontresina, St. Moritz). The profile of the trails varies, too, from flat to steep: altitude differences along the courses vary from 0 m (Zuoz short course) to 120 m (St. Moritz), so some require more energy than others.

Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Sport unter Bäumen

Running
MalojaPontresinaSamedanCelerina
Vitaparcours
Zurück zu den Wurzeln

1968 bekam die Schweizer Volksgesundheit neuen Schwung, als ein Zürcher Männerturnverein durch den Wald trabte und umherliegende Baumstämme, knorrige Wurzelstöcke und kräftige Äste als Turngeräte nutzte. Damit sie im Lauf der Monate ihre Trainingsstationen nicht immer neu suchen und zusammenstellen mussten, sponserte die Vita-Versicherung (später abgelöst von der Zurich-Versicherung) den ersten Vitaparcours.

Heute existieren schweizweit insgesamt 500 Vitaparcours: gratis, rund um die Uhr geöffnet - und dank einer festen Trägerschaft immer tiptop in Schuss! Sieben dieser Anlagen bieten im Engadin Lauf- und Fitness-Spass unter freiem Himmel bzw. unter Baumwipfeln: Von Maloja über Pontresina, Samedan, Celerina bis nach St. Moritz sowie Zuoz, können Genussläufer ihre Ausdauer verbessern, Kraft trainieren und/oder ihren Körper mit Geschicklichkeits- und Beweglichkeitsübungen fit halten.

Sie haben schon beim Lesen Lust bekommen, gleich mitzumachen?

Dann nur los! Aber nicht im Fitnessstudio, sondern in der herrlichsten Outdooranlage der Schweiz: in unseren Engadiner Wäldern!

Vitaparcours im Engadin
Vitaparcours im Engadin

Geschicklichkeit:
Auf Rundholz Gleichgewicht 5 Sek. halten, mindestens 1 Durchgang

Kraft:
Heben und Senken des Körpers am Holm, mind. 5 ×

Beweglichkeit:
Oberkörper nach beiden Seiten beugen, je mind. 10 ×

Ausdauer:
Step: schnelles Auf- und Absteigen, mind. 1 Min.

Einen Vitaparcours zu laufen beinhaltet viel mehr als «normales» Joggen. Es ist gelenkschonend, Geschicklichkeitstraining, Herz-Kreislauf-Stärkung, Kraftaufbau … das volle Fitnesspackage! Daher ist es umso wichtiger, dass Sie bestens gerüstet sind und mit dem richtigen Laufequipment starten. Hier finden Sie alles, was Sie für ein unbeschwertes Parcoursvergnügen benötigen.

Vita Parcours

Alle Vita Parcours im Überblick.

mehr erfahren
Vita Parcours
Engadiner Badeseen

Ab ins kühle Nass.

mehr erfahren
Lej da Staz
Fitnesscenter / Fitnessräume

Alle Fitnesscenter / Fitnessräume im Überblick.

mehr erfahren
Fitnesscenter / Fitnessräume

Ob alleine, mit dem Laufbuddy oder mit der Familie - der Vitaparcours ist ein echtes Vergnügen für jedermann. Was zum Spassfaktor beiträgt: Zwangslos läuft es am besten! Jeder Jogger (aber natürlich auch jeder experimentierfreudige Spaziergänger) kann nach Lust und Laune wählen, welche Übungsstationen er absolvieren möchte.

Verlässlich abwechslungsreich

Landesweit identisch ist der Aufbau der Vitaparcours, die 15 Stationen mit insgesamt 43 Übungen umfassen (ein Kurzparcours bietet mindestens 6 Stationen an). An jedem Trainingsgerät findet der Sportwillige eine blaue Schautafel, worauf die Übungen grafisch und farbig klassifiziert dargestellt werden. So fördern «gelbe» Aktivitäten die Geschicklichkeit bzw. Beweglichkeit, die «Roten» fordern die Kraft heraus und Übungen in Türkis widmen sich der Ausdauer.

Soweit die Standards. Alles weitere bestimmen Topografie und Platzverhältnisse. So erstrecken sich die Engadiner Vitaparcours über Längen von 0.9 km (Kurzparcours Zuoz), ca. 2.4 km (Samedan, Maloja, Celerina), ca. 2.8 km (Pontresina, St. Moritz). Auch die Steigungen fordern mit 0 m (Kurzparcours Zuoz) bis 120 m (St. Moritz) zu unterschiedlichem Energieeinsatz heraus.