Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Da stüva a stüva

Via Engiadina

Via Engiadina

The Via Engiadina leads through forests, across rivers and over alpine pastures – and from one welcoming wood-panelled stüva to the next.

Stage 1 – Maloja to Silvaplana

The Fedecla river tumbles past the Hotel Maria in Sils on its way to Lake Silvaplana. By now, hikers have completed half of the first stage of the Via Engiadina. They have already passed through the idyllic hamlet of Grevasalvas, where “Heidi” was once filmed; soon, they will continue along the Engadin’s chain of sparkling lakes. A stop in Sils requires leaving the route at Sils Föglias to drop down into the village. As soon as walkers cross the doorstep of the Hotel Maria, they feel the warm cosiness of Swiss stone pine. The Stüva Marmoré was a grocery shop in the 1930s; later, the Sils Curling Club was founded here. Today, the black soapstone stove serves only as decoration, but it is easy to imagine the scent of burning wood, which once heated many such stüvas. The house speciality here is Cordon bleu: a delicious and hearty dish, perfect for a long walk, with the advantage that calories are quickly burnt off along the way.

At the end of the first stage, tired legs will appreciate a little relaxation – and they are sure to find it at Conrad’s Mountain Lodge in Silvaplana. When the Conrad family bought the building in 1952, it was just an annex to another hotel. But even the Hotel Conrad that they created cannot be compared to today’s venue. In summer 2018, the lodge was completely refurbished, and reopened with Cindy Conrad at the helm. Since then, wood and stone have dominated the interiors, linking the wild mountain scenery with modern design. Local larch, for example, has found a new home in the form of panelling on the walls, sauna fittings and bed frames.

Hiking Holidays Via Engiadina
Hiking Holidays Via Engiadina

Mountain Trails along the Inn

Stage 2 – Silvaplana to Celerina

Although the Trutz mountain restaurant by the top station of the Suvretta–Randolins chairlift is no typical stüva, it provides an unmissable stop along the Via Engiadina. The views over the lakestrewn Engadin valley could not be better, from sun terrace and dining room alike. The restaurant belongs to Suvretta House, a venerable hotel with a history dating back more than 100 years. Highlights here include the nourishing barley soup, tasty Polenta and sweet Kaiserschmarren pancakes; add the glorious views, and any hiker will be tempted to linger. But there is still some way to go until the end of the second stage in Celerina, with a couple of hundred vertical metres to climb en route: no problem after the relaxing and energising lunch. In the theatrical setting of the Hotel Arturo in Celerina, it is wood that plays the starring role. At the end of a day’s hike, guests happily take a seat in the panelled “Stüva da Dschember” to savour gastronomic delights in a uniquely cosy atmosphere. Those who enjoy an after-dinner cigar or digestif can relax in “La stüva per fümer” before a peaceful night’s sleep in one of the bedrooms full of rustic charm. The following day starts early: the next stage is long. In the breakfast room, a generous buffet offers a variety of tempting treats, while guests enjoy the soothing aroma of Swiss stone pine one last time before setting off on the day’s hike.

Stage 3 – Celerina to Bever

The Chesa Salis acquired its name and current appearance from the von Salis family, long regarded as one of the most important in the Engadin and the Val Bregaglia. Originally built in 1590 as a farmhouse, the structure was converted into a magnificent aristocratic residence 290 years later. The three-storey wooden veranda on the southern side of the house and the ornate decorations on the facade give the Chesa Salis the aura of a palazzo. In 1981 it opened its doors to guests as a hotel, offering 18 delightful rooms with stucco decoration and traditional wood panelling. This is a home-from-home unlike any other: a place to charm the soul.

Via Engiadina
Via Engiadina

Stage 4 – Bever to Zuoz

The Via Engiadina does not actually pass through La Punt, but the village is well worth a detour – even an over-night stop. At the Hotel Krone, Sonja and Andreas Martin having been working their magic for more than 18 years. While Sonja takes care of guests, Andreas conjures exquisite fare in the kitchen – including dishes featuring Swiss stone pine. He stumbled on the idea about seven years ago during a walk, when he picked up a couple of pine cones and took them back to the hotel. He now uses nearly all parts of the tree. He steeps the cones in alcohol to make flavoured spirits; ferments the bark with vegetables; smokes fish and lamb fillets with wood shavings; and uses pine needle tips in fritters. The challenge is finding balance: the tree is full of essential oils, and the flavour intense. Each dish is also a feast for the eyes – as are the hotel’s interiors. The job of ex-tending and refurbishing the hotel went to the architects Ruch & Partners, who used different kinds of solid local timber – such as Swiss stone pine, larch and maple – to create an architectural work of art.

The fourth stage ends in Zuoz, a village that could easily have met its own end long ago: in 1499 the entire settlement went up in flames. Zuoz was completely rebuilt, however, including the Dorta. After Gian Rico Blumenthal bought the venue nearly 30 years ago, he breathed new life into it. The former pizzeria became a restaurant known for dishes inspired by cuisine from Graubünden and the Valtellina, while the barn made a wonderfully cosy dining room, imaginatively decorated with Rico’s hunting accessories and agricultural implements. Every corner has a story to tell. Brave guests can climb a ladder to reach the stüva with the lowest ceiling of all; happily, diners have to duck only when standing up.

Stage 5 – Zuoz to Zernez

The Veduta hotel and restaurant in Cinuos-chel is not quite on the route of the fifth stage, but is also worth a detour. In Gudench and Sabrina Campell’s stüva, the scent of local wood blends with the aroma of delicacies such as Capuns (dumplings wrapped in chard) and Graubünden barley soup. Gudench, a keen hunter, serves game in autumn, and enjoys telling diners the inside story of their meal. Hikers not only stock up on energy for the final few kilometres, they also pick up conversation material and know-how that could help them spot deer near the Swiss National Park – or at least, in autumn, hear the stags’ dramatic belling echo through the valleys.

Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Da stüva a stüva

Via Engiadina

Via Engiadina

Die Via Engiadina führt durch Wälder, über Flüsse und über Almen - und von einer einladenden holzgetäfelten Stüva zur nächsten.

Etappe 1 – Maloja bis Silvaplana

Der Fluss Fedecla rauscht vor dem Hotel Maria in Sils Richtung Silvaplanersee. Die Hälfte der ersten Etappe der Via Engiadina ist bereits geschafft. Hinter einem liegt das idyllische Dorf Grevasalvas, wo einst «Heidi» verfilmt wurde, vor einem die Engadiner Seenlandschaft. Für die kleine Pause in Sils wird die Route bei Sils Föglias verlassen, um ins Dorf abzusteigen. Bereits mit dem ersten Schritt über die Türschwelle des Hotel Maria umhüllt einen der wohlige Mantel der Arve. Die «Stüva Marmoré» war in den 1930er-Jahren ein Kolonialwarenladen und später Gründungslokal des Curling Club Sils. Der schwarze Specksteinofen dient nur noch zur Zier, in der Nase stellen wir uns aber den Duft von brennendem Holz vor, das einst manche Stube beheizte. Heute kitzelt der Duft von währschaften Cordons bleus die Nase. Glücklicherweise nistet sich die Hauspezialität bei dieser Wanderung nicht auf den Hüften ein.

Nach der ersten Etappe freuen sich müde Beine auf ein bisschen Entspannung. Und diese finden sie in der «Conrad’s Mountain Lodge» in Silvaplana. Als die Familie Conrad das Gebäude 1952 kaufte, war es lediglich eine Dépendence eines anderen Hotels. Auch das einstige Hotel Conrad ist mit dem heutigen nicht zu vergleichen. Im Sommer 2018 wurde die Lodge vollständig renoviert und unter der Leitung von Cindy Conrad neu eröffnet. Seither dominieren im Innern Holz und Stein und verbinden die raue Bergwelt mit modernem Design. Die einheimische Lärche beispielsweise hat nun in Form von Wandverkleidung, Bett und Sauna ein neues Zuhause gefunden.

Etappe 2 – Silvaplana bis Celerina

Auch wenn das Bergrestaurant Trutz bei der Bergstation Suvretta-Randolins keine typische Stüva aufweist, auf der Via Engiadina führt kein Weg an ihr vorbei – und das ist auch gut so. Denn egal, ob von der Sonnenterrasse oder von innen – die Aussicht über die Oberengadiner Seenlandschaft könnte nicht besser sein. Das Gasthaus gehört zum Suvretta House, das bereits auf eine über hundertjährige Geschichte zurückblickt. Mit der Aussicht im Blick und einer Gerstensuppe, Polenta oder einem Kaiserschmarren auf der Zunge möchte man noch lange hier verweilen. Die zweite Etappe endet aber erst in Celerina, ein paar Höhenmeter gilt es noch zu überwinden. Wenigstens mit einem guten Gefühl und vollem Magen.

Wäre das Hotel Arturo in Celerina eine Bühne, würde das Holz in diesem Stück die Hauptrolle spielen. Wer ankommt, nimmt im Arvenstübli «Stüva da Dschember» Platz, lässt sich kulinarisch verwöhnen und geniesst die Stunden in der heimeligen Atmosphäre. Bevor’s ins Bett geht, können Zigarren- und Digestif-Liebhaber noch einen Abstecher in die «Stüva per fümer» machen und fallen dann in einem der rustikal eingerichteten Zimmer in die weichen Federn. Am nächsten Morgen beginnt der Tag früh, denn eine längere Strecke liegt vor den Füssen der Wanderer. Im Arven-Frühstücksäli verführt ein Buffet voller Leckereien, während der Geruch der Arve ein letztes Mal die Nase kitzelt.

Etappe 3 – Celerina bis Bever

Von der Familie von Salis, die als eine der wichtigsten Familien im Engadin und Bergell galt, bekam die Chesa Salis ihren Namen und ihr heutiges Aussehen. Das ehemalige Bauernhaus aus dem Jahre 1590 wurde 290 Jahre nach seiner Erbauung zur herrschaftlichen Wohnstätte umgebaut. Die dreigeschossige Veranda aus Holz auf der Südseite und die reichen Verzierungen an der Hausfassade verleihen der Chesa einen Hauch eines Palazzos. Seit 1981 verzaubert das Haus nicht nur von aussen, sondern Gäste dürfen in den 18 hübschen Zimmern mit ihren Stuckverzierungen und der traditionellen Holzverkleidung nächtigen. Es ist ein Ort, an dem sich die Seele wohlfühlt.

Via Engiadina
Via Engiadina

Etappe 4 – Bever bis Zuoz

Eigentlich sieht die Via Engiadina in La Punt keine Pause vor, aber ein Abstecher lohnt sich dennoch – vielleicht sogar über Nacht. Hier in der Krone sind seit über 18 Jahren Sonja und Andreas Martin am Werk. Während sich Sonja um das Wohl der Gäste kümmert, tüftelt Andreas in der Küche an Menüs mit Arvenholz. Auf die Idee gekommen ist er vor rund sieben Jahren bei einem Spaziergang, als er spontan ein paar Zapfen mitgenommen hat. Mittlerweile verwendet er fast alles von der Arve: die Zapfen in Alkohol eingelegt und zu Schnaps verarbeitet, die Rinde mit Gemüse fermentiert, mit den Arvenspänen werden Fisch oder Lammfilets geräuchert und die Nadelspitzen in Beignets verarbeitet. Die Herausforderung beim Kochen sei, dass die Arve sehr intensiv sei und voll von ätherischen Ölen. Neben den Tellern ist auch das Interieur eine Augenweide. Mit dem Aus- und Umbau wurden die «Ruch und Partner Architekten» beauftragt. Sie kombinierten einheimische Massivhölzer wie Arve, Lärche und Ahorn und schufen damit ein architektonisches Gesamtkunstwerk.

In Zuoz endet die vierte Etappe und fast hätte hier auch eine Dorfgeschichte geendet. Denn 1499 fiel das ganze Dorf den Flammen zum Opfer. Zuoz wurde aber wieder vollständig aufgebaut, auch das Dorta. Als Gian Rico Blumenthal es vor knapp dreissig Jahren kaufte, hauchte er dem Haus neues Leben ein. Aus einer Pizzeria wurde eine vom Bündnerland und Veltlin inspirierte Küche und aus dem Heustall ein originelles, gemütliches Restaurant mit diversen Stuben, sorgfältig mit Jagd- und Landwirtschaftsutensilien dekoriert. Geschichten lauern in jeder Ecke. Wer mutig ist, klettert die Leiter hoch und isst in der niedrigsten Stube des Hauses. Glücklicherweise muss nur beim Stehen der Kopf eingezogen werden.

Etappe 5 – Zuoz bis Zernez

Nicht ganz auf der letzten Etappe gelegen, aber einen Abstecher wert: das Veduta in Cinuos-chel (Gemeinde S-chanf). In der Stube von Gudench und Sabrina Campell riecht es nicht nur nach heimeligem Holz, sondern auch nach feinen Capuns und Bündner Gerstensuppe. Im Herbst tischt Gudench gerne sein erlegtes Wild auf und serviert auch gleich die Geschichte dazu. So haben Wanderfreunde nicht nur die nötige Energie für die letzten Kilometer, sondern auch gleich den passenden Gesprächsstoff und das Wissen, um in Nationalparknähe gar einen Hirsch zu erspähen oder zumindest im Herbst röhren zu hören.