Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Snowsafari

Ski & Snowboard
99 km of piste, 6,666 vertical metres, 22 mountain huts

99 km of piste, 6,666 vertical metres, 22 mountain huts

The up to 350 kilometres of piste in this winter sports paradise are spread across three large ski areas – the “World Cup” mountain of Corviglia, the dramatic Corvatsch, and the thrilling slopes of Diavolezza and Lagalb – and five smaller ones. Spoilt for choice? Our Snow Safari offers an exhilarating selection of the finest pistes – and cosiest mountain restaurants – right across the Engadin.

Your one-day grand tour begins with a cable-car ride from the Furtschellas base station in Sils up to an altitude of 2,800 m, where the scenic run down to Surlej provides a magnificent warm-up for the day’s adventure. The next ride carries you to the highest cable-car station in the Eastern Alps: the Corvatsch summit station, a proud 3,303 m above sea level. With each vertical metre the cable car climbs, you feel more and more excited at the prospect of the legendary Hahnensee piste that awaits. But before tackling it, you will want to linger at the summit to enjoy the glorious views of the fairy-tale winter landscape at your feet: the frozen lakes, small villages and snow-blanketed forests on the slopes of the mountain giants all around.

The run via Hahnensee takes you nine sparkling kilometres all the way down to the valley floor at St. Moritz Bad. You could of course cruise straight down the mountain non-stop, but several panoramic viewpoints along the way invite you to pause, breathe in the fresh mountain air and soak up the sunshine. Can you see the pistes of the Corviglia across the valley? The next stage of your tour awaits there.

Snowsafari

Well-earned refreshments on sunny restaurant terraces

From St. Moritz Bad, the Signal cable car carries you up a mountain whose slopes have already hosted five World Ski Championships. The Snow Safari takes you to the Corviglia summit station, the Piz Nair, and then to Trais Fluors and Marguns before a glorious long descent all the way down to Celerina. By then, you will have ticked off 4,444 vertical metres, 88 km of runs and 9 pistes. So you really deserve a reward along the way: stop at one of the beautiful restaurant terraces on Corviglia, and treat yourself to a leisurely break in the sunshine – and to a gourmet delicacy or two.

Fancy another final blast?

Whether Celerina really is the end of your Snow Safari day is entirely up to you – depending, of course, how much time you have left. Fast skiers and snowboarders, and those who have made an early start, can easily catch a bus up to Lagalb and enjoy a run there before switching to the day’s third 3,000-metre peak: the Diavolezza, with its magnificent 10-kilometre glacier run, the longest in Switzerland. The piste ends by the Restaurant Morteratsch, where you can celebrate completing your Snow Safari in style.

Further information

Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Snowsafari

Ski & Snowboard
99 Pistenkilometer, 6666 Höhenmeter, 22 Hütten

99 Pistenkilometer, 6666 Höhenmeter, 22 Hütten

Die insgesamt bis zu 350 Pistenkilometer im Wintersportparadies verteilen sich über die ausgedehnten Skiregionen des Weltcup-Bergs Corviglia, des imposanten Corvatsch, der rassigen Hänge von Diavolezza und Lagalb sowie fünf kleinerer Gebiete. Damit die Wahl nicht zur Qual wird, bietet dir unsere Snowsafari eine faszinierende Auswahl der schönsten Pisten – und gemütlichsten Bergrestaurants - quer durch das Engadin.

Los geht’s mit einer Bergbahnfahrt von der Talstation Furtschellas in Sils hinauf auf 2800 m, wo dich die Abfahrt nach Surlej bestens auf die grandiose Tagestour einstimmt. Die nächste Fahrt befördert dich zur höchstgelegenen Bergstation der Ostalpen, genauer gesagt: zur Bergstation Corvatsch auf stolzen 3303 m. Mit jedem Höhenmeter, den die Kabine hinter sich lässt, steigt die Vorfreude auf die bevorstehende legendäre Hahnenseepiste. Doch oben angelangt geniesst du erst einmal ausgiebig die wunderschöne Aussicht auf das märchenhafte Winterwunderland, das dir zu Füssen liegt: die gefrorenen Seen, kleinen Dörfer und verschneiten Wälder an den Hängen der umliegenden Bergriesen.

Die Abfahrt via Hahnensee führt dich über prickelnde neun Kilometer anschliessend bis ins Tal nach St. Moritz Bad. Gewiss könntest du die Piste nonstop hinuntersausen, doch verschiedene Aussichtspunkte verlocken zum Abbremsen, Durchatmen und Sonnetanken. Siehst du die Pisten der Corviglia auf der anderen Talseite? Dort warten schon die nächsten Etappen auf dich.

Snowsafari

Wohlverdiente Stärkungen auf herrlichen Sonnenterrassen

In St. Moritz Bad bringt dich die Signalbahn auf den Berg, auf dessen Hängen bereits fünf Ski-Weltmeisterschaften ausgetragen worden sind. Die Snowsafaripisten führen dich an der Bergstation Corviglia, dem Piz Nair, Trais Fluors und Marguns vorbei, bevor eine herrlich lange Abfahrt in Celerina endet. Da du bis dorthin allerdings 4444 Höhenmeter, 88 Pistenkilometer und 9 Pisten hinter dir lassen wirst, solltest du der Versuchung der wunderbaren Sonnenterrassen auf der Corviglia nachgeben und dir dort wohlverdiente Pausen gönnen.

Noch ein kleiner Endspurt gefällig?

Ob Celerina wirklich das Ende des Safaritages ist, liegt ganz bei dir – und ist natürlich von der Zeit abhängig. Schnelle Ski- und Snowboardfahrer oder jene, die einen «Frühstart» hingelegt haben, können mit dem Bus unkompliziert die Lagalb erreichen und nach der dortigen Abfahrt weiter zum dritten Dreitausender des Tages wechseln: Die Diavolezza punktet mit ihrer zehn Kilometer langen Gletscherabfahrt, der längsten der Schweiz! Die Piste läuft am Restaurant Morteratsch aus, wo du deine Snowsafari kulinarisch ausklingen lassen kannst.

Weitere Informationen