Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Bernina Glaciers

The fascinating world of glaciers

Pontresina

The Bernina Range with its world-famous peaks such as Piz Bernina and Piz Palü and the impressive glacier world with the mighty Pers Glacier are among the most beautiful panoramas in the Alps. It is therefore no coincidence that many classic excursions take place here. Spectacular views of the Palü glacier from the picturesque Alp Grüm, a voyage of discovery in the Cavaglia Glacier Garden, and the fascinating glacier trail to the Morteratsch Glacier - one highlight follows the next. Welcome to the Bernina Glaciers.

A paradise for glacier experiences

There are 173 glaciers in the highest glacier region of the Eastern Alps. They surround the imposing peaks of the Bernina Mountains and thus provide an incomparable alpine panorama. The longest and probably best known of them is the Morteratsch Glacier with a length of seven kilometers. Its siblings have well-known names such as the Roseg, Tschierva, and Pers Glaciers.

Alt text
Alt text
Alt text

The Bernina Glaciers, as the area in this unique glacier complex is called and which connect the Engadin with the Valposchiavo, are one of the most popular destinations for excursions. Adventurers, sports lovers, nature enthusiasts, and families all get their money's worth here because the mountain world around the Piz Bernina has so much to offer. The best thing about it is that the individual activities can be combined quite easily and conveniently by means of hop-on / hop-off sightseeing on the Rhaetian Railway. For example, this will take you to the valley station of Diavolezza, where the highest virtual reality experience in the world awaits you and from where you can get even closer to the Piz Bernina. The viewing platform on Diavolezza offers an unrestricted view of the majestic peaks and the impressive mountain scenery.

On the trails of the eternal ice

Exploring the mighty glaciers on your own is not recommended, as dangerous crevasses hide beneath the white blanket of snow. If you would like to walk on a glacier, it is best to book one of the numerous excursions offered by the Pontresina Mountaineering School and venture onto the eternal ice with a professional. Close to the ice, however, is the glacier trail to the Morteratsch Glacier. This unique hike gets a little longer every year because, due to its constant melting, the glacier tongue has retreated by about three kilometers since 1850. There are 16 stopping points that provide information about this process, the climatic challenges, and the mysterious life in the foreground before the gigantic tongue of ice can be admired at the foot of the glacier. The glacier trail is also ideal for an excursion on two wheels, using your own muscle power or with the help of supplementary energy.

Time travel to the ice age

In the Cavaglia Glacier Garden you can admire glacier mills formed by the Palü Glacier. The mills were formed over thousands of years by the erosion of the glacier. Glacial water, debris, and gravel have sculpted the hard rock and ground huge holes in the ground. Starting this summer, the Glacier Garden with the new Cavagliasco Gorge will be part of the southernmost excursion highlight of the Bernina Glaciers. Situated on the edge of the Cavaglia plateau, the gorge is characterized by bizarre erosion patterns in the glacier. Many of these whirlpools, glacial mills, and large, cave-like overhangs were previously hidden from visitors, but a new gorge trail now makes these natural beauties accessible. To reveal the view of ten new glacial mills, many steps were cut into the stone along the 180-meter-long path and supplemented with bridge elements. The project was planned and implemented by the well-known bridge builder Jürg Conzett and his team.

Alt text
Alt text

The reflected perception of the Camera Obscura

An unexpected way of viewing the landscape awaits visitors at the Camera Obscura on the Bernina Pass. The Camera Obscura is a windowless room in which only a hole in the wall reflects light onto the concave inner wall, thus mirroring an image of the outside world. The hole in the shell of the 'black chamber' has the effect that its angle of vision captures about 180° of the outside world, thus drawing a unique picture of the untouched landscape around Lago Bianco.

Alt text

A descent into the depths

The 'Cascada da Bernina' is a panoramic theme trail in the middle of the Bernina glacier world where the wild mountain stream 'Ova da Bernina' plunges towards the valley floor from a height of about 200 meters. Translated from Rhaeto-Romanic, 'Cascada' means waterfall and thus describes the rushing spectacle at the foot of the mighty mountain scenery, which can be marveled at from the viewing platforms along the cascade.

Experiences for the whole family

The Bernina Glaciers also have a lot to offer for families. With the cheerful mountain spirit Sabi, as well as other mythical creatures, children have their own companion who tells the story of the glacier and gives the little ones simple tasks to do. Sabi and his friends help the children explore the glacier world in a playful way and provide lots of fun and adventure in the discovery area between the Roseg Glacier and the Cavaglia Glacier Garden.

Alt text
Alt text

Hop-on / Hop-off sightseeing with the Rhaetian Railway

These and many other Bernina Glacier excursion destinations are located along the UNESCO World Heritage route of the Rhaetian Railway. The Bernina line is the highest railroad line in the Alps and fascinates with unique views as well as a fascinating railroad construction consisting of old viaducts and bridges. The Bernina Express, which connects the Engadin with the Italian border town of Tirano, is therefore an unforgettable experience. With the hop-on / hop-off sightseeing of the Rhaetian Railway you can easily combine the glacier experiences of the Bernina Glaciers, an attraction that is unparalleled worldwide. 

Bernina Express

The highest rail crossing in the Alps leads over the Bernina Pass down to Tirano in Italy.

more info
 Bernina Express
Book the Bernina Express

Book your ticket now

more info
Book the Bernina Express

Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Bernina Glaciers

Die faszinierende Gletscherwelt im Festsaal der Alpen

Pontresina

Das Bernina-Massiv mit seinen weltbekannten Gipfeln wie dem Piz Bernina oder dem Piz Palü und der eindrücklichen Gletscherwelt mit dem mächtigen Persgeltscher gehören zu den schönsten Bergpanoramen der Alpen.

Es kommt daher nicht von ungefähr, dass hier zahlreiche Ausflugsklassiker zu finden sind. Ob spektakuläre Aussichten auf den Palügletscher von der malerischen Alp Grüm, eine Entdeckungsreise im Gletschergarten Cavaglia oder der faszinierende Gletscherweg zum Morteratschgletscher – ein Highlight jagt das nächste. Herzlich willkommen in den Bernina Glaciers.

Ein Paradies für Gletschererlebnisse 

Satte 173 Gletscher werden in der höchstgelgenen Gletscherwelt der Ostalpen gezählt. Sie umschliessen die imposanten Gipfel des Berninagebirges und sorgen so für ein unvergleichliches Alpenpanorama. Der längste und wohl bekannteste unter ihnen ist der Morteratschgletscher mit einer Länge von sieben Kilometern, seine Geschwister tragen klingende Namen wie Roseg-, Tschierva oder Persgletscher.

Persgletscher
Tschiervagletscher
Alt text

Die Bernina Glaciers, wie der Erlebnisraum in dieser einmaligen Gletscherwelt genannt wird und der das Engadin mit dem Valposchiavo verbindet, gehören zu den Ausflugsklassikern schlechthin. Abenteurer, Sportler, Naturliebhaber und Familien kommen hier gleichermassen auf ihre Kosten, denn die Bergwelt rund um den Piz Bernina hat so einiges zu bieten. Das Beste dabei ist, dass sich die einzelnen Aktivitäten ganz unkompliziert und bequem mittels Hopp-on / Hopp-off Sightseeing der Rhätischen Bahn kombinieren lassen. So fährt diese zum Beispiel zur Talstation der Diavolezza, wo das höchstgelegene Virtual Reality Erlebnis der Welt wartet und von wo man noch näher an den Piz Bernina gelangt. Die Aussichtsplattform auf der Diavolezza bietet nämlich eine uneingeschränkte Sicht auf die majestätischen Gipfel und die Eindrückliche Bergkulisse.

Auf den Spuren des ewigen Eises

Die mächtigen Gletscher auf eigene Faust zu erkunden wird nicht empfohlen, denn unter der weissen Schneedecke verstecken sich gefährliche Gletscherspalten. Wer trotzdem einmal auf einem Gletscher laufen möchte, bucht am besten eine der zahlreichen Aktivitäten der Bergsteigerschule Pontresina und wagt sich mit einem Profi auf das ewige Eis. Nah an das Eis führt jedoch der archaische Gletscherweg zum Morteratschgletscher. Die einmalige Wanderung wird jedes Jahr etwas länger, denn durch sein stets Schmelzen hat sich die Gletscherzunge seit 1850 um rund drei Kilometer zurückgezogen. Über dieses Zurückweichen, die klimatischen Herausforderungen sowie über das geheimnisvolle Leben in seinem Vorfeld informieren 16 Haltepunkte, bevor am Fusse des Gletschers die gigantische Eiszunge bewundert werden kann. Der Gletscherweg eignet sich auch bestens für einen Ausflug auf zwei Rädern, per eigener Muskelkraft oder mithilfe von Zusatz-Energie.

Zeitreise zur Eiszeit

Im Gletschergarten von Cavaglia können zudem Gletschermühlen, die vom Palügletscher gestaltet wurden, bestaunt werden. Die Mühlen wurden über Jahrtausende durch die Erosion des Gletschers geformt, Gletscherwasser, Schutt und Kies haben den harten Fels bearbeitet und riesige Löcher in den Boden gemahlen. Ab diesem Sommer gehört der Gletschergarten mit der neuen Cavagliasco-Schlucht zum südlichst gelgenen Ausflugshighlight der Bernina Glaciers. Am Rand der Hochebene von Cavaglia gelegen wird die Schlucht von bizzaren Erosionsformen der Gletscher geprägt. Viele dieser Strudeltöpfe, Gletschermühlen und grosse, höhlenartige Überhänge blieben bisher den Besuchern verborgen, ein neuer Schluchtweg macht diese Naturschönheiten nun zugänglich. Um den Blick auf zehn neue Gletschermühlen freizugeben, wurden auf dem 180 Meter langen Weg viele Treppenstufen in den Stein geschlagen und mit Brückenelementen ergänzt. Das Projekt wurde vom bekannten Brückenbauer Jürg Conzett und seinem Team geplant und umgesetzt.

Gletschergarten Cavaglia
Gletschergarten Cavaglia

Die reflektierte Wahrnehmung der Camera Obscura

Eine unerwartete Art der Landschaftsbetrachtung erwartet die Besucher der Camera Obscura auf dem Berninapass. Die Camera Obscura ist ein fensterloser Raum in der einzig durch ein Loch in der Wand Licht auf die konkave Innenwand reflektiert und so ein Bild der Aussenwelt gespiegelt wird. Das Loch im Gehäuse der ‚schwarzen Kammer‘ hat die Eigenschaft, dass ihr Blickwinkel gegen 180° der Aussenwelt erfasst und so ein einzigartiges Bild der unberührten Landschaft rund um den Lago Bianco zeichnet.

Die reflektierte Wahrnehmung der Camera Obscura

Ein Sturz in die Tiefe

Die ‚Cascada da Bernina‘ ist ein aussichtsreicher Themenweg inmitten der Bernina-Gletscherwelt, wo sich der wilde Bergbach ‚Ova da Bernina‘ aus einer Höhe von rund 200 Metern der Talsohle entgegen stürzt. Aus dem Rätoromanischen übersetzt steht ‚Cascada‘ für Wasserfall und beschreibt somit das rauschende Spektakel am Fusse der gewaltigen Bergkulisse, welche von den Aussichtsplattformen entlang der Kaskade bestaunt werden kann.

Erlebnisse für die ganze Familie

Auch für Familien haben die Bernina Glaciers so einiges zu bieten. Mit dem fröhlichen Berggeist Sabi sowie weiteren Fabelwesen haben die Kinder ihren eigenen Begleiter, der die Geschichte des Gletschers erzählt und den Kleinen einfache Aufgaben stellt. Sabi und seine Freunde helfen den Kindern, die Gletscherwelt spielerisch zu erkunden und sorgen für viel Spass und Abenteuer im Erlebnisraum zwischen dem Roseggletscher und dem Gletschergarten von Cavaglia.

Gletscherweg Morteratsch
Erlebniswelt Bernina Glaciers

Hopp-on / Hopp-off Sightseein mit der Rhätischen Bahn

Diese und viele weitere Ausflugsziele der Bernina Glaciers befinden sich entlang der UNESCO-Welterbe-Strecke der Rhätischen Bahn. Die Berninalinie ist die höchstgelegene Bahnstrecke in den Alpen und fasziniert mit einmaligen Aussichten sowie einem faszinierendem Bahnbau bestehend aus alten Viadukten und Brücken. Der Bernina Express, der das Engadin mit der Italienischen Grenzstadt Tirano verbindet, ist deshalb ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. Per Hopp-on / Hopp-off Sightseeing der Rhätischen Bahn lassen sich zudem die Gletschererlebnisse der Bernina Glaciers ganz einfach miteinander verbinden, eine Attraktion die weltweit ihresgleichen sucht.

Bernina Express

Vom Gletscher zum Gelato: Dieser spektakuläre Alpenüberquerung ist ein echter Klassiker

mehr erfahren
Bernina Express
Bernina Express Buchen

Buchen Sie Ihr Ticket

mehr erfahren
Bernina Express Buchen