Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

High spirits up on the Corvatsch

Culinary & Gastronomy

Corvatsch
At 3,303 metres above sea level, where the air is thin and dry, the spirit of the Engadin is captured and bottled.

The soul of whisky is alive in our land,” Rinaldo Willy declares proudly. Whisky is so much more than just a drink, according to this native of the Engadin. Ancient, mystical and romantic symbols also play an important role for whisky enthusiasts: wild landscapes, melancholic wisps of mist, the fragrant scent of a forest. In Switzerland, and particularly in the Engadin, drinkers find these symbols in the mighty glaciers and towering cliffs, the crystal-clear lakes and thick forests. “Our land was destined to become a great whisky nation,” says Rinaldo, who started distilling whisky a good decade ago with fellow enthusiast Pascal Mittner. And he sees certain parallels with the whisky nation of Scotland: “We have a certain reputation here in Graubünden,” he says. “We can be as narrow-minded or as outward-looking as the Scots; they could almost be our brothers.”

Whatever the similarities, though, it is unlikely that in Scotland anyone travels to a distillery by cable car. “All aboard,” says the guard in the Corvatsch cable car. The door closes. Soon after, a magnificent view opens up over the larch forests and the lake-strewn valley floor of the Upper Engadin. For most of the passengers in the cable car, the ride up the mountain is the start of an exciting day’s outing; for Rinaldo Willy and Pascal Mittner, however, this is just their journey to work. They make their whisky, called Orma Swiss Whisky, high up on the Corvatsch, at 3,303 metres above sea level. For some years they had been storing whisky barrels here to mature, but one day they came up with the bold idea to distil the whisky up on the mountain, too. The backdrop could barely be more spectacular, and the distillery’s unusual location has practical advantages, too: “Since we can cool the facility with fresh mountain air, we save a fair bit of money and energy,” Rinaldo says.

ORMA Degustation und Führung in der Destillerie

Experience the ORMA philosophy live in the highest whiskey distillery in the world with one of the founders of ORMA Swiss Whiskey and with your friends.

ORMA Whisky distillery on top of the mountain
Whisky Gourmet Express

Enjoy the trip from Chur to St. Moritz and back while treating yourself to culinary highlights and an exclusive ORMA Whisky tasting.

ORMA Whisky distillery on top of the mountain

Switzerland distils again

The basis for the enthusiasts’ project was a new decree signed on 12 May 1999 by the President of the Swiss Confederation at the time, Ruth Dreyfuss, and the Federal Chancellor, François Couchepin: the Ordinance on Alcohol and Home Distillery Law. Up until then, it was illegal in Switzerland to distil whisky or other spirits from staple foods such as cereals or potatoes. The reason was to prevent alcohol abuse during the two World Wars, and also to protect valuable foodstuffs. The new law gave distillers throughout Switzerland the green light to begin production.

ORMA Whisky Destillerie

Friendship, esteem and time

Rinaldo and Pascal’s place of work, their product and ambitions are unusual enough; so too was the manner in which they got to know one another. They met during a decisive period in their lives: both were fighting cancer. Pascal says in retrospect: “That changed our attitude to life, and especially the way we deal with our fellow humans.” To this day, they cherish three things: friendship, esteem and time. Time, because you cannot buy it with money. And because it is limited: no one knows how much they have, says Rinaldo. “When you have cancer, you realise that you have to live in the present and not the future,” he says. So today, every one of their whisky bottles carries the following words in flowing script:

“The soul knows no time, but time gives the soul priceless moments.”



Moments that are all the more precious when they are shared with special people. Time has another particular significance in the lives of the whisky distillers. Anyone who undertakes to produce whisky at top international level has to be patient. A good whisky, before it can be enjoyed, needs to mature in a wooden barrel – for anything from six to twenty years. Pascal explains: “What we are setting up here is the foundations for another generation.” They also invested a great deal of time in developing their whisky’s character. “We did not want to copy Scottish whiskies at all,” says Rinaldo.

Alt text

Unlike Scottish distillers, they do not use sherry or bourbon barrels for maturing their spirits; instead, they make use of what is available locally. Pascal says: “We have outstanding wine regions both to the north and the south – the Bündner Herrschaft, for example, and the Valtellina.” Here they order the wooden barrels in which their whisky can develop different flavours – of dried fruit, tea, coffee, cocoa and light vanilla notes. The barrels are stored in the cellars of castles and historical town buildings, in old barns, in abandoned military bunkers – and on a spectacular mountain sum - mit, high up, where the air is thin and dry. Every location gives the whisky its own special character. Whisky matured up on the Corvatsch is already on sale; from Christmas 2023, enthusiasts will also be able to buy whisky that was distilled here, too. While Pascal and Rinaldo aim to keep the entire production in the region, they are keen to conquer the Asian market. “People in Asia value high-quality spirits,” says Rinaldo, “plus Swissness also counts for a lot.”

Going with the flow

The sun is setting, and the last rays of sunshine are lighting up the alpine peaks. The clock strikes five. Time for the cable car to make its last trip down the mountain. Which gives rise to a thought: what happens if, at the end of a day’s work, the pair of whisky enthusiasts miss the last cable car, or if stormy weather stops it running altogether? That does happen now and again, says Rinaldo. They have a place they can sleep up here and an emergency supply of ravioli. “We are in the mountains, nature plays the leading role here.” You could get worked up about the weather or just accept the inevitable and make the best of it. And what could be better at such a moment than to sit down, enjoy a good conversation – and a fine whisky. “The soul knows no time, but time gives the soul priceless moments.”

More information

Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Auf dem Corvatsch brennt die Schweiz

Kulinarik & Gastronomie

Bergstation Corvatsch
Orma Whisky Corvatsch
In 3303 Metern Höhe, wo die Luft dünn und trocken ist, wird die Engadiner Seele eingefangen und in Fässer abgefüllt.

Die Seele des Whiskys existiert in unserem Land», sagt der Engadiner Rinaldo Willy mit Überzeugung. Whisky sei mehr als ein Genussmittel, für Whiskyliebhaber spielen archaische, mystische und romantische Symbole eine wichtige Rolle: raue Landschaften, melancholische Nebelschwaden oder der würzige Duft eines Waldes. In der Schweiz und insbesondere im Engadin finde man diese Symbole in den massiven Gletschern und schroffen Felswänden, in den klaren Seen und dichten Wäldern. «Unser Land ist prädestiniert, sich als eine grosse Whiskynation zu etablieren», ist sich Willy sicher, der zusammen mit Pascal Mittner vor gut einem Jahrzehnt mit dem Destillieren von Whisky begann. Und er sieht gewisse Parallelen zu der Whiskynation Schottland: «Wir Bündner haben einen gewissen Ruf. Wir seien in etwa so engstirnig oder weltoffen wie die Schotten – sie könnten sozusagen unsere Brüder sein.»

So viele Ähnlichkeiten es auch geben mag, mit einer Gondel fährt in Schottland wohl niemand zur Destillerie. «Bitte einsteigen», ruft der Kabinenführer der Corvatsch-Bahn. Die Türe schliesst sich. Und schon nach wenigen Minuten eröffnet sich dem Gast eine überwältigende Sicht auf Lärchenwälder und die Seenplatte des Oberengadins. Für das Gros der Gondelgäste ist die Bergfahrt der Beginn eines erlebnisreichen Tagesausflugs, für Rinaldo Willy und Pascal Mittner ist es jedoch der Arbeitsweg. Denn ihr Whisky, Orma Swiss Whisky genannt, entsteht hoch oben auf dem Corvatsch, auf 3303 m ü. M. Schon seit mehreren Jahren lagern sie hier oben Whiskyfässer zur Reifung, später entstand die kühne Idee, den Whisky auch gleich hier zu brennen. Spektakulärer könnte die Kulisse kaum sein, und die besondere Lage der Brennerei hat auch praktische Vorteile: «Dadurch, dass wir die Anlage mit der frischen Bergluft kühlen können, sparen wir einiges an Geld und Energie ein», sagt Willy.

ORMA Degustation und Führung in der Destillerie

Erlebe die Philosophie von ORMA live in der höchstgelegensten Whisky Destillerie der Welt mit einem der Gründer von ORMA Swiss Whisky und mit Deinen Freunden zusammen.

ORMA Whisky Destillerie auf der Bergstation
Whisky Genussexpress

Geniessen Sie die Fahrt von Chur nach St. Moritz und retour während Sie sich kulinarisch verwöhnen lassen und exklusiven ORMA Whisky degustieren.

ORMA Whisky Destillerie auf der Bergstation

Die Schweiz brennt wieder

Den Grundstein zur Tätigkeit der beiden Bündner legten am 12. Mai 1999 die damalige Bundespräsidentin Ruth Dreifuss und Bundeskanzler François Couchepin mit der Unterzeichnung der neuen Verordnung zum Alkohol- und zum Hausbrennereigesetz. Denn bis dato war es in der Schweiz illegal, Whisky und andere Destillate aus Grundnahrungsmitteln wie Getreide oder Kartoffeln zu brennen. Damit wollte man einerseits während der beiden Weltkriege Alkoholmissbrauch verhindern, andererseits aber auch die knappen Lebensmittel schützen. Die neue Verordnung ebnete Brennern in der ganzen Schweiz den Weg.

ORMA Whisky Destillerie

Freundschaft, Wertschätzung und Zeit

Nicht nur ihr Arbeitsort, ihr Produkt und ihre Ambitionen sind wenig alltäglich, auch wie sich die beiden kennenlernten. Rinaldo Willy und Pascal Mittner begegneten sich in einer wegweisenden Lebenszeit. Beide kämpften zu dieser Zeit mit einem Krebsleiden. Mittner sagt rückblickend: «Das hat unsere Einstellung zum Leben, im Speziellen den Umgang mit unseren Mitmenschen, verändert.» Bis heute halten sie drei Dinge hoch: Freundschaft, Wertschätzung und Zeit. Zeit deswegen, weil man sie nicht mit Geld kaufen kann. Und weil sie beschränkt ist. Niemand wisse, wie viel er zur Verfügung habe, sagt Rinaldo Willy. «Wenn man Krebs hat, realisiert man, dass man in der Gegenwart und nicht in der Zukunft leben muss.» So steht heute auf jeder Whisky-Flasche in geschwungener Schrift:

«Die Seele kennt keine Zeit, doch die Zeit gibt der Seele wertvolle Momente.»



Momente, die einzigartig seien, wenn sie mit besonderen Menschen geteilt werden. Die Zeit hat im Leben der Whiskybrenner noch eine weitere Bewandtnis. Denn wer sich vornimmt, Whisky auf internationalem Spitzenniveau zu produzieren, verschreibt sich der Geduld. Ein guter Whisky kommt vor dem Genuss zur Reifung in ein Holzfass – und bleibt dort sechs bis zwanzig Jahre. Mittner sagt: «Was wir hier aufbauen, ist das Fundament für eine nächste Generation.» Viel Zeit steckten sie auch in die Entwicklung des Charakters ihrer Spirituose. «Wir wollten keinesfalls die schottischen Whiskys kopieren», sagt Willy.

Alt text

So verwenden sie, anders als die Schotten, für die Reifung keine Sherry- oder Bourbonfässer. Stattdessen machen sie Gebrauch von dem, was in der Region vorhanden ist. Mittner sagt: «Wir haben im Norden wie im Süden hervorragende Weinregionen, die Bündner Herrschaft oder das Veltlin zum Beispiel.» Dort ordern sie die Holzfässer, in denen ihr Whisky verschiedene Aromen entfalten kann, von gedörrten Früchten, Schwarztee, Kaffee, Kakao und leichten Vanillenoten. Gelagert werden die Fässer in Kellern von Schlössern und Altstadthäusern, in alten Scheunen, verlassenen Militärbunkern – oder eben auf einem Berggipfel, in spektakulären Höhen, wo die Luft dünn und trocken ist. Jeder Standort verpasse dem Whisky seinen ganz eigenen Charakterzug. Auf dem Corvatsch gereiften Whisky gibt es bereits zu kaufen; jener, der auch hier gebrannt wurde, wird ab Weihnachten 2023 erhältlich sein. Die Wertschöpfung ihres Produkts soll dabei in der Region bleiben, mit ihren Whiskys möchten Mittner und Willy aber den asiatischen Markt erobern. «Die Asiaten schätzen hochwertige Spirituosen, gleichzeitig punkten wir dort mit Swissness», sagt Willy. Bevor Denms Somergen zur Arben gent‘ pack! er eIne seIdene Slrumpfnose und eIne Pensche In seIne Tascne.

Das Unveränderbare akzeptieren

Die Sonne senkt sich, die letzten Strahlen erhellen den Alpenbogen. Die Uhr schlägt fünf. Zeit für die Gondel, die letzte Talfahrt des Tages anzutreten. Da kommt ein Gedanke: Was, wenn die beiden nach einem Arbeitstag die letzte Gondel verpassen oder diese wegen stürmischen Wetters gar nicht fährt? Das komme schon mal vor, sagt Willy. Sie hätten hier oben einen Schlafplatz und eine Notration Ravioli. «Wir sind in den Bergen, hier spielt die Natur die Hauptrolle.» Man könne sich über das Wetter aufregen oder das Unveränderbare akzeptieren und das Beste daraus machen. Und was würde sich in einem solchen Moment mehr anbieten, als sich hinzusetzen, ein gutes Gespräch zu führen und sich einen Whisky zu gönnen.

Mehr Informationen