Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Giovanni Segantini

Experience the Spirit of Famous Painters

He is the figurehead of Maloja - the painter Giovanni Segantini. Born in Arco in 1858, he first moved to Milan at the age of 28, and later lived for several years in Savognin, where many of his most important works were created. In 1894 the family moved to Maloja, where Segantini's descendants still live today.

In Maloja, the family moved into the "Chalet Kuoni," a spacious chalet in the middle of the village built by the engineer of the Gotthard Railway Company Alexander Kuoni from Chur. From 1896 Segantini worked in Maloja in summer and in Soglio in Bergell in winter. Here he created, among other things, high mountain landscapes in a painting technique related to Neo-Impressionism. Best known is the grandiose alpine triptych Becoming - Being - Passing away (La vita - La natura - La morte), consisting of the parts: Life, Nature, and Death. It originated from Segantini's idea to build a pavilion for the 1900 Paris World's Fair and to exhibit a panorama of the Engadin mountains in it. For financial reasons, the project failed but the idea of the panorama gave rise to today's triptych. "Life" was created from 1896 to 1899 near Soglio, "Nature" from 1897 to 1899 on the Schafberg above Pontresina, and "Death" from 1896 to 1899 near the Maloja Pass in the direction of Bergell. The triptych hangs in the Segantini Museum in St. Moritz.

Studio and Sentiero Segantini

The round building behind the Segantini House, on the way to the Belvedere lookout tower, is a 1:10 scale model of the planned pavilion at the Paris World's Fair. The studio can be visited every weekend from 16:00-18:00. Private tours of the studio and the family residence are also available upon request.

Alt text

You can learn more about Segantini on the Sentiero Segantini. A two-hour walk takes you to 12 stations associated with the painter. Among them are the Chiesa Bianca, where Segantini was laid out after his death, and the family tomb in the cemetery where the artist is buried. He died in 1899 on Sheep Mountain. Display boards provide information about the life and work of the artist.

Atelier Segantini, Maloja
more info
Atelier Segantini
Segantini Museum, St. Moritz
more info
Segantini Museum

"The most beautiful thing I saw"

If you want to dive into the life of Giovanni Segantini in the form of a novel, the work of Astra Scheid "Das Schönste was ich sah" is recommended. It is best to read it when you are in Maloja - the text seems to come alive when enjoyed in the local settings.

Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Giovanni Segantini

Erleben Sie den Geist berühmter Maler

Er ist das Aushängeschild Malojas – der Maler Giovanni Segantini. 1858 in Arco geboren, zog es ihn mit 28 Jahren zuerst nach Mailand, später lebte er einige Jahre in Savognin, wo zahlreiche seiner bedeutendsten Werke entstanden. 1894 zog die Familie nach Maloja, wo die Nachkommen Segantinis noch heute leben.

In Maloja bezog die Familie das vom Ingenieur der Gotthardbahn-Gesellschaft Alexander Kuoni aus Chur erbaute „Chalet Kuoni“, ein geräumiges Chalet mitten im Dorf. Ab 1896 arbeitete Segantini im Sommer in Maloja und im Winter in Soglio im Bergell. Hier entstanden unter anderem Hochgebirgslandschaften in einer dem Neoimpressionismus verwandten Maltechnik. Bekannt ist vor allem das grandiose Alpentriptychon Werden – Sein – Vergehen (La vita – La natura – La morte), bestehend aus den Teilen: Das Leben, die Natur und der Tod. Entstanden ist es aus der Idee Segantinis, für die Pariser Weltausstellung 1900 ein Pavillon zu bauen und darin ein Panorama der Engadiner Berge auszustellen. Aus finanziellen Gründen scheiterte das Projekt und aus der Idee des Panoramas entstand das heutige Triptychon. “Das Leben” entstand 1896 bis 1899 in der Nähe von Soglio, “die Natur” 1897 bis 1899 auf dem Schafberg oberhalb von Pontresina und “der Tod” 1896 bis 1899 beim Malojapass in Richtung Bergell. Das Triptychon hängt im Segantini Museum in St. Moritz.

Atelier und Sentiero Segantini

Der Rundbau hinter dem Segantini-Haus, am Weg zum Aussichtsturm Belvedere, ist ein Modell im Massstab 1:10 des geplanten Pavillons an der Pariser Weltausstellung. Das Atelier kann jeweils am Wochenende von 16.00-18.00 Uhr besichtigt werden. Auch private Führungen im Atelier sowie in der Residenz der Familie sind auf Anfrage möglich.

Alt text

Mehr über Segantini erfährt man auf dem Sentiero Segantini. Ein rund zweistündiger Spaziergang führt Sie zu 12 Stationen, die mit dem Maler in Verbindung stehen. Unter anderem zur Chiesa Bianca, wo Segantini nach seinem Tod aufgebahrt wurde und zum Familiengrab auf dem Friedhof, wo der Künstler begraben liegt. Er starb 1899 auf dem Schafberg. Schautafeln informieren über das Leben und das Werk des Künstlers.

Atelier Segantini
mehr erfahren
Atelier Segantini
Segantini Museum
mehr erfahren
Segantini Museum

“Das Schönste was ich sah”

Wer in Form eines Romans ins Leben von Giovanni Segantini eintauchen möchte, dem sei das Werk von Astra Scheid “Das Schönste was ich sah” empfohlen. Am besten lesen Sie es, wenn Sie sich in Maloja befinden – die Lektüre wirkt durch die Schauplätze vor Ort fast lebendig.