" Chalandamarz in Zuoz Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Chalandamarz in Zuoz

Zuoz

Chalandamarz in Zuoz

Zuoz
The Zuoz Chalandamarz begins at midnight on Friday, 28 February 2025 with the cracking of whips in front of the Plantahaus at the "Vout".

On Friday 28 February, the boys (and most likely you too!) are woken up with loud bell ringing from 03:00 (clamer oura). At 07:00, the traditional parade begins on the village square. At 12.45 pm, the horse-drawn carriage ride to Madulain is prepared in front of the Hotel Crusch Alva, starting at 1 pm.

On 1 March, the schoolchildren once again parade from house to house early in the morning in peasant blouses, pointed caps and traditional costumes with bells and whips and sing Chalandamarz songs. From (around) 11:00 a.m., the crowning finale is the whip-cracking on the school square!

This custom of pagan origin was once used to invoke fertility (fountains), to drive away the winter spirits of the previous year (noisy cowbells, whips) and to test the young men for mercenary service (line-up according to bell and body size).

Programme

Friday, 28 February 2025

  • 00:01: Whip cracking in front of the Plantahaus on the village square
  • 03:00 am: Bell ringing
  • 07:00 am: Start of the traditional procession on the village square in Zuoz
  • 12:45 pm: Preparation for the horse-drawn carriage ride to Madulain in front of the Hotel Crusch Alva in Zuoz
  • 13:00: Start of the horse-drawn carriage ride to Madulain (Hotel Crusch Alva, Zuoz)

Saturday, 1 March 2025

  • 07:30 am: Start of the traditional parade on the village square in Zuoz
  • approx. 11:00 am: Crowning finale - whip cracking on the school square in Zuoz
Dates
28. February 2025  1. March 2025

Friday | 28.02.2025

from 00:00

Saturday | 01.03.2025

continuous opening hours
Place
Dorfplatz Zuoz, Zuoz
More Information
Dorfplatz Gemeinde Zuoz
Dorfplatz
Zuoz
www.zuoz.ch/

"" Chalandamarz in Zuoz Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Chalandamarz in Zuoz

Zuoz

Chalandamarz in Zuoz

Zuoz
Bereits am Freitag, den 28. Februar 2025 um Mitternacht beginnt der Zuozer Chalandamarz mit dem Peitschenknallen vor dem Plantahaus beim «Vout».

Am Freitag, den 28. Februar werden die Knaben (und höchstwahrscheinlich auch Sie!) mit lautem Glocken-Geläute ab 03:00 Uhr geweckt (clamer oura). Um 07:00 Uhr beginnt dann der traditionelle Umzug auf dem Dorfplatz. Um 12:45 Uhr wird vor dem Hotel Crusch Alva die Fahrt mit Pferde-Kutschen nach Madulain vorbereitet, mit Start um 13:00 Uhr.

Am 1. März ziehen die Schulkinder wieder in Bauernblusen, Zipfelmützen und Trachten am frühen Morgen mit Glocken und Peitschen von Haus zu Haus und singen Chalandamarz-Lieder. Ab (ungefähr) 11:00 Uhr findet als krönender Abschluss das Peitschenknallen auf dem Schulhausplatz statt!

Dieser Brauch heidnischen Ursprungs diente früher der Beschwörung der Fruchtbarkeit (Brunnen), der Vertreibung der Wintergeister des vergangenen Jahres (lärmige Kuhglocken, Peitschen) sowie der Musterung der jungen Männer für Söldnerdienste (Aufstellung nach Glocken- und Körpergrösse).

Programm

Freitag, 28. Februar 2025

  • 00:01 Uhr: Peitschenknallen vor dem Plantahaus beim Dorfplatz

  • 03:00 Uhr: Glocken-Geläute

  • 07:00 Uhr: Start des traditionellen Umzugs auf dem Dorfplatz in Zuoz

  • 12:45 Uhr: Vorbereitung der Fahrt mit Pferde-Kutschen nach Madulain vor dem Hotel Crusch Alva in Zuoz

  • 13:00 Uhr: Start der Fahrt mit Pferde-Kutschen nach Madulain (Hotel Crusch Alva, Zuoz)

Samstag, 1. März 2025

  • 07:30 Uhr: Start des traditionellen Umzugs auf dem Dorfplatz in Zuoz
  • ca. 11:00 Uhr: Krönender Abschluss – Peitschenknallen auf dem Schulhausplatz in Zuoz
Datum
28. Februar 2025  1. März 2025

Freitag | 28.02.2025

Ab 00:00

Samstag | 01.03.2025

durchgehend geöffnet
Ort
Dorfplatz Zuoz, Zuoz
Weitere Informationen
Dorfplatz Gemeinde Zuoz
Dorfplatz
Zuoz
www.zuoz.ch/