" Engadinwind | Engadin, Switzerland Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Engadinwind

Water sports

St. Moritz Silvaplana
Engadinwind

Thanks to the punctual Maloja wind every day at 11 o'clock, the lake region in the Upper Engadin is a popular place for many water sports activities including windsurfing and sailing which are ideal for such conditions.

The wind force 4-5 Beaufort even attracts internationally known faces of the surfing scene to the lakes of Silvaplana and St. Moritz. The event "Engadinwind" is one of the most famous water sports events worldwide and is also the oldest windsurfing event in the world. In recent years, world championships and European championships have taken place on the Engadine lakes with 250 athletes from over 35 nations. During one week, the world's best water sportsmen surf for the world championship title in the Olympic class.

Alt text
Alt text
Alt text

A tradition that keeps its head above water

In 1977, the first Engadin Surf Marathon took place, making it the oldest event still held in this category. For the 40th anniversary, the "Legends Race" was organized, in which all winners of the last 40 editions participated. Among them were Karin Jaggi from Bern, who is considered the fastest female windsurfer in the world as well as 29 times world champion; the Swiss Jan Bonga, who participated in the 1988 Olympics in the discipline Division II; as well as the two Olympic champions and record holders of the Engadinwind Timm Stade and Matthias Bornhäuser from Germany, who won the marathon four times between 1988 and 1999.

Alt text
Alt text

Sustainable into the future

he so-called iQFoil is also used for the races on Lake Silvaplana and is at the forefront of windsurfing innovation. At the 2024 Summer Olympics, the RS:X equipment used so far will be replaced by the iQFoil, thus steering into a new future of windsurfing. A future that promises more excitement and sustainability for future generations.

The sport of Wing Foil has only recently been added to the water sports event programme and combines tradition with the latest trends. The Wing Foil World Cup in the disciplines of slalom/racing and freestyle promises breathtaking sport in the wonderful water sports world of the Engadine.

More information on the event: www.engadinwind.com

More information

"" Engadinwind | Engadin, Schweiz Download_on_the_App_Store_Badge_US-UK_RGB_blk_4SVG_092917 ic_keyboard_arrow_right_48px default-skin 2 estm_eng_2chair_lift estm_eng_3chair_lift estm_eng_4chair_liftestm_eng_6chair_liftestm_eng_aerial_cableway estm_eng_funicularestm_eng_gondola_cableway estm_eng_magic_carpet estm_eng_ponylift estm_eng_ski_lift estm_eng_snowtube 4_close Generated by Fontastic.me stm_booking_bergellstm_booking_bike_hotelstm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_busstm_booking_bus_cable_railwaystm_booking_bus_cable_railway_asteriskstm_booking_golfhotelstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_hotel_skipass_bstm_booking_railway_incstm_booking_railway_inc_asterisk

Engadinwind

Wassersport

St. Moritz Silvaplana
Engadinwind

Dank des pünktlichen Malojawindes täglich um 11 Uhr ist die Seenregion im Oberengadin ein beliebter Ort für viele Wassersportaktivitäten; vor allem Windsurfen und Segeln sind für solche Verhältnisse prädestiniert.

Die Windstärke 4-5 Beaufort lockt sogar international bekannte Gesichter der Surfszene auf den Silvaplaner- und St. Moritzersee. Die Veranstaltung «Engadinwind» gehört weltweit zu den bekanntesten Wassersportevents und ist ausserdem die älteste Windsurf-Veranstaltung der Welt. In den letzten Jahren haben Weltmeister- und Europameisterschaften auf den Engadiner Seen stattgefunden mit 250 Athleten aus über 35 Nationen. Während einer Woche surfen in der Olympischen Klasse die weltbesten Wassersportler um den Weltmeistertitel.

Engadinwind
Engadinwind
Engadinwind

Eine Tradition hält sich über Wasser

Im Jahre 1977 fand der erste Engadin Surfmarathon statt und ist somit der älteste noch durchgeführte Event in dieser Sparte. Zum 40 Jahre Jubiläum wurde das «Legends Race» veranstaltet, an welchem alle Gewinner der letzten 40 Austragungen teilgenommen haben. Darunter waren Karin Jaggi aus Bern, welche als schnellste Windsurferin der Welt sowie 29-fache Weltmeisterin gilt, der Schweizer Jan Bonga, welcher 1988 an der Olympia in der Disziplin Division II teilnahm sowie auch die beiden Olympiasieger und Rekordhalter des Engadinwindes Timm Stade und Matthias Bornhäuser aus Deutschland, welche den Marathon zwischen 1988 und 1999 ganze viermal gewonnen haben.

Engadinwind
Engadinwind

Nachhaltig in die Zukunft

Die sogenannte iQFoil wird auch für die Rennen auf dem Silvaplanersee benutzt und ist in Sachen Innovation beim Windsurfen an vorderster Stelle. An den Olympischen Sommerspielen 2024 sollen die bisher eingesetzten RS:X Ausrüstungen durch die iQFoil ersetzt werden und somit in eine neue Zukunft des Windsurfens steuern. Eine Zukunft, welche für die kommenden Generationen mehr Action und Nachhaltigkeit verspricht.

Die Sportart Wing Foil ist erst sei Kurzem im Programm der Wassersport Veranstaltung und verbindet die Tradition mit den neusten Trends. Der Wing Foil World Cup in den Disziplinen Slalom/Racing und Freestyle verspricht atemberaubenden Sport in der traumhaften Wassersportwelt des Engadin.

Weitere Informationen zum Event: www.engadinwind.com

Engadinwind

Mehr Informationen